Neeraj Chopra wins Diamond League trophy 2022

Neeraj Chopra won the Diamond Trophy - handed out to winners of the Diamond League final every year - with a throw of 88.44m. 

Neeraj Chopra is the first Indian to ever win the prestigious trophy

He started with a foul, before the big throw in his 2nd attempt. With the men's and women's javelin throw event happening simultaneously, Neeraj Chopra had to wait quite a bit before his trophy could be confirmed.

Olympic silver medalist Jakub Vadlejch of the Czech Republic finished on 2nd place with a best javlin throw of 86.94m. Rounding off the podium places was Julian Weber of Germany, with a best javlin throw of 83.73m.

Neeraj Chopra had started his 2022 season late, after nearly a year out post the Olympics.